End of month 1 Year 2

It’s Friday afternoon, I’m on the last day of my 30 day no drinking adventure (documented on my personal blog) and hitting refresh on my email constantly as I wait to hear whether I’ve been accepted into the international conference PhD workshop (I’m supposed to be notified by 1st Feb.)

Touching base on my January goals and thinking about my next 4 weeks. Here’s where I am at:

  • Contact outstanding interviews from existing sets to schedule interviews: one confirmed for next Friday and one has disappeared into the ether…..no idea whether I will locate them.
  • Determine next 20 interviews and contact primary subjects: Wow this is harder than I thought.  I have emails out to two potential primary candidates (Sydney and Adelaide) and no responses.  People who I thought would jump at the opportunity are just not responding to emails.  I’m working myself up into a bit of an anxiety bubble over this, so taking a screen break over the weekend before attempting to contact new people on Monday. Adelaide is a priority as I am already booked to travel there in March.
  • Touch base with supervisor – meet and discuss project plan: Done and done.  We met yesterday (and I should say I received my Stage 1 feedback this week, which was very valuable, and I am now officially a Stage 2 candidate.)
  •  Map out plan for publication in 2015 – journals to approach, time frames: sort of.  I have a journal article idea, that fits with my data collected, but I haven’t finalised the journals as yet.  I’m going to commence the Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks program as of next week, but this assumes you have a previous essay/paper to modify.  I do not, so I’ll spend 2-3 weeks putting a 5,000 rough paper together first.  Aim is to submit by the end of this semester.
  • Semester 1 teaching course reviewed and gaps identified, course content finalised end February: on track.  Just confirming the subject guide with my school, and then I update as of next week.

So it’s hasn’t been a bad month. I’ve made some big theoretical leaps as well, which has cemented my direction. This is good. But I think I have to realistic with regard to just how many interviews I can do, not because of time, but because of actually getting subjects.  I was overly optimistic in my belief people would want to be part of this project.

Anyhow, for the month of February my aims are:

  • Complete the review of my Cultural Policy Course.
  • Have a paper ready to write my journal article on, complete with references and further data.
  • Have collected enough data and notes to begin a draft chapter on Context: Creative industries and their HR implications
  • Continue reading on social learning theory and communities of practice, including critical approaches.

Onwards and upwards – Happy Friday all.

 

Leave a Reply

